Teacher Appreciation Gift + FREE Thank you tags

Teacher appreciation gift sign

As the school year goes by and summer time approaches time starts to fly by. I don’t know why, but it literally goes from March to May just like that. After being flustered with moving and transferring my children to a new school, I felt it was especially important for me to do a teacher’s appreciation gift because their teachers made it super easy to transition. Being in the party business affords me the luxury of meeting and building friendships with some amazing business women. So when I thought of a teacher appreciation gift I ordered some yummy Rice Krispies treats from Peace Moore of Lovely Chic Occasions. I wanted to go with two different themes so that each teacher felt special. We decided on flowers and notebooks with apples.

treats

Once I knew the colors I took a trip to Walmart and got a few things.

items needed 1 rkt

Your Shopping List:

  • Small metal pails (found in party section of Walmart for 87 cent each)
  • 2 packs of ribbon (I chose purple and blue in 1/8in x 10 yd)
  • 1 pack of Paper Mate pens
  • 1 pack of sticky notes (set of 4)

other items needed pens      Items I had at home:

  • Rectangle shaped Styrofoam (any craft store)
  • Oracle 651 Vinyl (ordered from Expressions Vinyl)
  • Contact Paper
  • Silhouette Cameo

Once I had my items, I got started by first designing the teacher’s name with my silhouette cameo software.

*TIP: When designing the names and choosing a font keep in mind that those that are thin and curvy (fancy) may not cut properly. So choose wisely and test it out on card stock first.

names of teachersvinyl name

Once I had the correct spellings, fonts, and colors to match my buckets, I proceeded to cut out the names. Once the names were cut, I weeded the vinyl and covered it with contact paper and adhered to the buckets.

container with name

*Easy process just be sure to line it up coming from the bottom so that the names don’t curve.

Once I finished all the buckets. I then took my piece of Styrofoam and measured the bucket to determine how big my block needs to be.  Like so…

block of stryfoam

measure pot size

Tip: You can measure with a pencil so you know exactly where you can cut.

small stryofoam piece

Once the Styrofoam is cut, take a sheet of tissue paper and cut in half.

Place the Styrofoam in the middle and pull it up over it.

 Like so…

wrap with tissue paper

Hold together and place inside the bucket.

Tip: It should be snug so your treats do not fall over.

Once it’s in place, take a pack of sticky notes and place them in the back of the block. This will make the inside a little snugger and make a sweet little surprise for the teacher.

TIP: Have your children right a nice note to the teacher if you would like.

where to place the sticky note

Once the sticky note is secure, poke a hole in the Styrofoam with scissors and place the Rice Krispies treats in there.

Then take a piece of ribbon and tie two pens together and stick them in the Styrofoam.

FINALLY fold the tissue paper the way you would like it.

back of bucket with pens

AND YOU’RE FINISHED!!

Teacher Appreciation Buckets

BONUS:

I didn’t take a picture of the labels, but I have created these as a bonus to add to the handle with ribbon.

How to download and use:

Simply select the picture and save. Print on cardstock and punch a hole in the card and attach with ribbon.

seed learning

Teacher appreciation tags.jpg b.r.w

I hope you enjoyed the tutorial, let me know if you have any questions and post a link if you have followed the tutorial.

Until next time,

Glitter Girlz Signature

Leave a Reply

